CLAS 12A: Cultures & Ideas II: Creating Barbarians (Cohen)

The Oxford Classical Dictionary's list of abbreviations for ancient authors and their works is the standard system used by classical scholars. Check here whenever your sources use abbreviations to indicate the author and title of one of your ancient primary sources.

This is the major scholarly encyclopedia about all aspects of the Greek and Roman world. Fifteen volumes are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity, while five volumes are devoted to the influence of the classical heritage from the end of the Roman Empire to modern times.

In addition to surveying the ancient Greek and Roman world, this handy one-volume encyclopedia also covers other cultures with whom the Greeks and Romans were in contact.

This four-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of aspects of daily life and culture throughout the ancient world from prehistory to the fall of the Roman Empire. Each article explores a specific topic (such as astronomy, calendars and clocks, festivals, or weapons and armor) across the entire world in ancient times. Each topic is examined as it occurred in ancient Africa, Egypt, the Middle East, Greece, Rome, Europe, Asia and the Pacific, and the Americas. This approach makes it easy to compare similarities, differences, and influences worldwide.

This multivolume encyclopedia, aimed at the student and general reader, serves not only as a reliable source of factual information, but also as a guide to recent approaches and interpretations of the significance of many aspects of the classical world.

This one-volume encyclopedia provides good introductory articles on the ancient civilizations of Greece, Rome, and Persia, as well as India and China.

This multivolume set provides excellent scholarly surveys of the history of the ancient world, including Mesopotamia, Persia, Greece, and Rome. Each volume is a narrative history, arranged chronologically and geographically. Several supplementary volumes contain photographs of archaeological sites and objects, which are important primary sources for studying the ancient world.

This book lists in chronological order the rulers of various kingdoms and peoples of the ancient world and the early Middle Ages, from the third millennium BCE to the 11th century CE. The geographic scope is vast, covering the Near and Middle East, the Greeks and Romans, Byzantium, and the many peoples of the ancient world with whom they came in contact (such as the Germanic kingdoms in Europe and Britain, the Huns, and India and China). This volume is a supplemental volume to Brill's New Pauly, the major scholarly encyclopedia of the Greek and Roman world.