Finding Books for background info
You can use guidebooks and reference works to help understand where to start with a topic. Look for your topic in some of these reference works.
-
The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible
by
ISBN: 9780195176100Publication Date: 2004-11-18Offering a wealth of reliable information, The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible provides more than 300 articles that cover everyone from Adam and Eve to Jesus Christ and everywhere from the Garden of Eden to Golgotha and Gethsemane. Readers will find fascinating, informative entries on virtually every major figure who walked across the biblical stage. -
The Bible Guide - Old Testament
by
ISBN: 9781912552382Publication Date: 2020-02-21Hailed as a "classic reference book" by The Right Reverend James Jones, former Bishop of Liverpool, The Old Testament Guide provides readers with a complete all-in-one journey through the books of the Old Testament. Easy to read and navigate, this volume explores, explains, and brings to life the history, stories, cultures, and messages of each book. The accessibility of Andrew Knowles' writing demystifies and contextualises many aspects of the Scriptures, and deepens our understanding of their principles, doctrine, and messages for us today. -
The Bible Guide - New Testament
by
ISBN: 9781912552368Publication Date: 2020-02-21Hailed as a "classic reference book" by The Right Reverend James Jones, former Bishop of Liverpool, The New Testament Guideprovides readers with a complete all-in-one journey through the books of the New Testament. Easy to read and navigate, this volume explores, explains, and brings to life the history, stories, cultures, and messages of each book. The accessibility of Andrew Knowles' writing demystifies many aspects of the scriptures, and deepens our understanding of their principles, doctrine, and messages for us today. Interspersed with boxed features that highlight key events, places, people and biblical passages, The New Testament Guideis an ideal introduction for new scholars and interested readers alike who have little or no grounding in the subject.
Finding Book Chapters
Remember that you don't have to read the entire book. Many scholarly books are collections of different concepts and ideas broken up into chapters. You can search for Book Chapters in several ways.
Use the filters in the database to find Book Chapters: To do this check the filters or "limit results to" section of the database you are searching. In the ProQuest ebook database, you can see your search results by book or book chapter. (See link to database below)
Use Keywords to find Book Chapters: Many of the same databases that hold scholarly articles also hold books as well. Books, especially ebooks, will often have their chapters listed as their own entry in the database. When you search by keyword, as you would for a journal article, your results can include book chapters as well.
Tip: When searching for books, don't check the box for "peer reviewed". This will often get you a copy of a review of the book, rather than the book itself.
-
Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowThis database offers over 150,000 multidisciplinary ebooks, with the ability to read online or download DRM-free chapter pdfs
How to Find Books
Searching for a book through the library is easy! From the library's homepage https://www.scu.edu/library/, you can conduct a search for books the SCU Library owns or subscribes to (physical and virtual), in addition to many other material types. You can use it to find books on your topic by doing a keyword search, or for known titles and authors.
- Simple search for "aging".
- You can leave this to "All Fields", which means it will look for the keyword "aging" anywhere in the record of an item (e.g. Title, Author, Subject). Click on the magnifying glass to do a search.
- You can select filters to the different formats. Selecting on "eBook" limits to books online. Selecting "Book" limits to physical books in the library.
- "Located" will tell you if it's online or in the stacks. A physical book will be assigned a "call number". Use this to locate the actual book amongst the stacks. If a book is "Available" to be checked out, you will see this green icon. If it is not available, it will say "Checked out".
- If it is an eBook, it will tell you to access the book online.