Newspapers A-Z Databases
To find all of the library's newspaper's go to:
- The library's homepage: https://www.scu.edu/library/
- Navigate to the "Quick Links" and select "Databases" OR click on the "Databases" tab on the search box. Select the link "Browse All Databases by Type of Vendor".
- Navigate to the drop down menu "All Databases Types". Click on the drop down arrow and select "Newspapers".
Selected News Sources Databases through SCU Library
- Acceda Noticias This link opens in a new windowThis database provides Spanish language newspapers, magazines, and newswires from the U.S. and around the world. Years of coverage vary by title.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database Includes articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.
- Economist This link opens in a new windowAccount creation using @scu.edu email address required. Includes full access to app and web digital content related to world events, politics, business, science and technology, books, and the arts.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database contains two collections: 1) A current collection (1990-present) of full- text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) A History collection (1959-1989) of full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses.
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to NYTimes.com, New York Times mobile apps, and New York Times in Education. Registration is required. Content includes Breaking News, Multimedia, Opinion, Blogs, Videos and more.
Browse Front Pages of World Newspapers
Here's another way to find some newspapers to follow: use the Newseum website and sort by a particular world region. Look at the front pages and pick some to follow more intentionally. You could also use Newseum to see how a particular front-page topic is treated across different newspapers.
Once you find a newspaper in Newseum that you're interested in, find its URL and visit it regularly. You will likely find you can only get so many free article before you hit the paywall, where it tells you to purchase a subscription.
When you hit that paywall, check the SCU library for the publication because we purchase subscriptions to thousands of news sources. Watch this 4-minute video to learn how to find and read a newspaper in the library
Newseum
Click to launch the Newseum website where you can select a region to browse.
