Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Green/Sustainable Building: Databases

Resources for green or sustainable buildings--such as the SCU School of Engineering's Solar Decathlon House.

Library Databases for Green/Sustainable Buildings

In the "Databases" search box on the library home page find a database using the Alphabetical List (if you know the name of the database) OR with the pull-down menu (Browse by Subject)--choose a subject--to obtain a list of databases in your research area.
You can also access a page giving you the entire range of electronic resources available in the library at: Electronic Resources

Recommended databases for Green/Sustainable Buildings are (mostly from the Engineering database list):

Applied Science & Technology Source - Provides full-text for over 1,400 journals. Has comprehensive coverage for a variety of applied science and technology specialties such as applied mathematics, energy resources & research, biomedical materials, robotics, and other sci-tech applications.

ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers) - Provides access to the full-text of the ASCE journals and conference proceedings to which the University subscribes. Searching is available within each publication.

ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library - This complete set has 12,000+ of the ASTM (American Society for Testing & Materials) standards. The latest versions of the standards are provided in PDF or HTML. Search by the standard designation or keyword. Subjects such as metals, construction, the environment and more are covered.

Civil Engineering Database - The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) provides an electronic information retrieval service to all of its publications published since 1970.

Engineering Village - For a comprehensive search through two indexes which combine to provide access to the world's engineering information.
 
ENGnetBASE - Includes the full text of 2310+ CRC Press engineering handbooks. Searchable by keyword only.
 
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management - This multidisciplinary database provides abstracts and references to the literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution, as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. 1981-present. Updated monthly.
 
GreenFILE - A multidisciplinary environmental database that includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles on global warming, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, green building, and more.
 
GREENR - Environmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics. Abstracts and full-text. Sources include newspapers, magazines, refereed journals, videos, podcasts, images, case studies, and portals for 160+ nations with an interactive map.
 

Subject categories with additional databases to consider are:

Environmental Studies database subject category

General and Reference database subject category

Science database subject category