Research Guides: Renaissance Art Resources: Bibliographies

Quick Links

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Art Books: This bibliography identifies over 5,000 monographs (scholarly books) on individual artists working in all media, from all historical periods, and from any country.
Guide to the Literature of Art History Guide to the Literature of Art History 2: Together these represent a very comprehensive guide to the best resources for art research. Scanning the Tables of Contents will enable you to identify the sections you should examine, and the more detailed index in each volume will lead you to anything you might have overlooked.
Central Italian Painting, 1400-1465: An Annotated Bibliography Fifteenth Century Central Italian Sculpture: An Annotated Bibliography: These are great examples of scholarly bibliographies. If you have never used such a tool before, and your research topic fits in here, these will be a real experience for you. They can save you a lot of time.