Quick Links

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Encyclopedias and Reference Books

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Providing excellent coverage of the visual arts in all parts of the world, this online resource contains several reference works on art. Most important is Grove's Dictionary of Art, the largest and most comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts that has ever been published. Don't start any research on art without checking this source.
Providing excellent coverage of the visual arts in all parts of the world, this database contains several reference works on art. Most important is Groves Dictionary of Art, the most highly respected encyclopedia of art in the English language.

Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance and Mannerist Art
Drawn from Grove's Dictionary of Art (see above), the articles in this 2-volume encyclopedia have been revised and updated. They cover the major artistic developments in Italy from around 1400 to 1600.
Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art
Covering the years 1250-1648, this reference book provides brief articles on artists, patrons, artistic centers, major themes and subjects, and historical figures and events that influenced Renaissance art throughout Europe.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
This outstanding encyclopedia covers all aspects of the Renaissance in Europe, from the middle of the 14th century to the beginning of the 17th century. Its articles will help you understand the art better by explaining its historical and cultural context.
Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture
This is a handy one-volume encyclopedia on all aspects of Christian art and architecture of all time periods. Its short articles can help you greatly in understanding the religious traditions and subject matter that were prominent in Renaissance art.
Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
Do you want to compare depictions of Pegasus across time and artist? Before this book, studying the treatment of classical themes through the years would have been very difficult. But, with this guide, it is a breeze. This is a unique and very valuable research tool.