Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding journal articles and more
FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES AND MORE
This is the basic index to journal articles published since 1929 in the field of art. Once you are ready to start looking for articles on your subject, you should always look here first. The full text (but often not the illustrations) of some of these articles is available online back to 1995.
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art)
This database covers the literature of post-classical Western art, including books, exhibition catalogs, conference proceedings, and articles in journals published throughout the world between 1975 and 2009. (You'll find out about lots of publications in foreign languages here, as well as in English!)
International Bibliography of Art
The successor to BHA, this database indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, exhibition catalogues, and other publications published since 2008 on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.
This is the index to what has been published worldwide since 1924 on the Greco-Roman and early Christian world, up to 800 A.D. Some of its annotations are in French, but don't let that scare you. It is searched in English, and it will alert you to the existence of many publications written in English.
This database contains more than 1.9 million high-quality digital images that are freely available for educational and research use. Containing reproductions of a wide range of works of art and architecture from all times and places throughout the world, it is an excellent source in which to find images of buildings and works of art from the early Christian era and the Byzantine Empire.