Research Guides: Resources on Contemporary Literature and Film of the Arab World: Finding Articles

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Finding Articles, Books, and More

FINDING ARTICLES, BOOKS, AND MORE

These databases are excellent sources for finding articles, books, and other resources containing biographical, critical, and factual information about Arabic authors and films.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This is a database of full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers, as well as newswires and other miscellaneous news sources. It is easy to select the geographic region and specific news sources that you wish to search. This is an excellent source to use to find news stories and reviews about films of the Arab world, published in news publications from the Middle East as well as in publications from around the world.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive guide to what has been written in journal articles, books, and more since 1915 about the mass media and other forms of human communication. It is an excellent source for finding articles on films from around the world.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to articles and other materials on all aspects of film research, including writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This database is a major source for finding the full text online of articles containing biographical information about authors from around the world, as well as critical assessments of their works.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This index tells what articles have been published since 1984 in the most important scholarly journals in the humanities. It is particularly useful for doing research on topics likely to be covered in the journals of several different fields, such as literature, the performing arts, and film studies.
The full text of many of the articles is available online from 1995, or later, to the present. For indexing of articles in humanities journals prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.

Internet Movie Database
This web site provides information on films of the past and present from around the world, including cast lists, reviews, movie trailers, and profiles of producers, directors, and performers. The extensiveness of its coverage makes it a good starting point when looking for basic factual data on any film.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This database lists books and articles written since 1926 on all modern languages and their literatures. It is also a good place to find articles about films, especially those based upon works of literature.
This database includes the full text of more than 1,000 journals in the fields covered. It also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides detailed information about all the periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.