Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Find out if the library has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers, either electronically or in print.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
Connect to a reference librarian for help 24/7.
CONTEMPORARY LITERATURE AND FILM OF THE ARAB WORLD
The following encyclopedias are excellent sources to start with in finding background information on Arabic literature and film.
Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature
This encyclopedia is the standard English-language reference source on the most important authors, works, genres, and issues in Arabic literature from pre-Islamic times to the present.
Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film
This encyclopedia contains articles summarizing the history of cinema in the Middle East, North Africa, and central Asia. Organized by region, the articles also provide brief biographies of important directors and actors, filmographies providing synopses and lists of key personnel of significant films, and useful bibliographies with suggestions for further reading.
Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema
Covering 1896-2009, this reference work provides articles on individual films, filmmakers, actors, themes, national cinemas, and other topics dealing with film throughout the Middle East.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
This online reference book provides articles on major films from around the world, as well as on the lives and careers of film directors, writers, actors, and other production artists.