Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowSearch for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
- Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new windowA team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.
Finding Background Information
If you just want a quick overview of Haiti and the Haitian revolution, try the following sources:
- Haiti (from the Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture)
- Haiti: The Forgotten Revolution (from An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History)
- Haitian Revolution (from the Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantc World)
- Haitian Revolution (from the Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism)
- Haitian Revolution (from the Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History)
- The Haitian Revolution of 1791-1803
Historical overview by Bob Corbett, retired professor, Webster University
- Timeline of Events in Haitian Revolutionary History
This timeline provides a chronology of events connected to the Haitian Revolution, from the onset of European colonization in the Caribbean, to modern day events shaped by a revolution that has significant a impact until today.
- Mapping the Haitian Revolution - This interactive map and timeline is a 17-map progression, each with its own argument.
- Women and the Haitian Revolution - Research Guide from the Library of Congress
Scene of the Battle of Vertières during the Haitian Revolution
http://www.worldgallery.co.uk/