Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 143 - Haitian Revolution: Articles

Find Articles on Your Topic

Scholarly Articles:

To find scholarly articles on your topic (secondary sources), try the following databases:

(If you have trouble accessing the links below, just go to the list of databases on the library homepage (www.scu.edu/library) , and select the one you want)

Historical Abstracts
Provides access to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (except the United States and Canada covered in America: History and Life).
 
Humanities Full-Text
Indexes and abstracts English-language articles in the most important journals in the humanities from 1984-present.  Full-text available for many articles from 1995 forward.
 
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Indexes nearly 1200 scholarly journals covering the entire range of the humanities and social sciences from 1907-1984.

Project Muse
Searchable database that provides access to the full-text of journals published by many university presses in the humanities, and social sciences.   Coverage varies for each title.

JSTOR
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, political science,  and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.  Be aware that the current issues (current 2 or 3 years) are not included.

 

How to Search the Databases:

Just enter keywords describing your topic.  Use the connector AND between your keywords.  For example:

haitian revolution and slavery

haitian revolution and influence

haitian revolution and women

Toussaint Louverture


If the full-text of an article is not readily available in the database,  click on the FIND IT AT SCU icon to see if it's available in another database or in print in the library.