Research Guides: WGST 2A: The Rhetorics of Passing (Nanda): Printed Books

Quick Links

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Get Help 24/7

Printed Books

WHAT IF I NEED A PRINTED BOOK?

To find books written about a specific person, do a Subject search in the Library Catalog and type the person's name (last name first).

If you are looking for books about a topic (not a person), do an Advanced search in the Library Catalog. If the first terms you type do not give you the results you want, try typing in various ways of describing your topic. Then, once you find some books that look like what you want, click on the Subject links that appear in the full records for those books, and you will probably find even more books on the same topic. (For example, if you type "Korean Americans and assimilation," you will find a few books, but clicking on the Subject heading "Korean Americans - Cultural assimilation" will reveal additional books to choose from.)

While the library is closed because of the shelter-in-place order, its printed books are available for borrowing in the following ways:

Curbside Pick-Up Service
Books and other physical materials in its collection can be requested for pick-up outside the entrance to the library. Click the link to learn complete details of this service.
Residential/Home Delivery Service
For people who do not live near the university or who are otherwise unable to use the curbside pick-up service, the library is offering residential/home delivery of printed books and other physical materials in its collection, within the continental U.S. and Hawaii. Click the link to learn complete details of this service.

In addition, you may be able to find a digitized copy of a book that was published only in print at the following website:

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that provides permanent access online to 1.4 million digitized copies of printed books from around the world and from all time periods. Works in the public domain (i.e., published before 1930) are readily available to all, while works still under copyright may be "checked out" and read by one person at a time, similar to one person at a time borrowing a printed copy from a library. The Internet Archive may not have digitized every book you are looking for, but it is definitely worth looking there for any books you need that exist otherwise only printed on paper.