Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Other Reference Sources
Encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources are a great way to get started and to find background information on your topic from various perspectives.
If you want to search for a specific topic or concept across various disciplines to get different perspectives try the following online collection of reference books. For example, do a search on RACE and you will get articles on "race" from reference sources in anthropology, psychology, sociology, biology, etc. Each of the databases below allow you to filter your results by subject.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Allows you to search for articles from over 600 different electronic reference books and also works as a gateway to a very wide array of other information sources, including images, audio and video. It is a really excellent place to begin research with 'Topic Pages' offering authoritative overviews and a Mind Map feature to assist in narrowing and focusing research and identifying keywords for database searching.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of over 200 subject encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A collection containing over 120 dictionaries and reference titles covering a broad spectrum of subjects from general reference and language to science and medicine, and from humanities and social sciences to business and professional.