Research Guides: THTR 189: Social Justice and the Arts (Thorstenson): Home

Quick Links

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

SOCIAL JUSTICE AND THE ARTS

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION SOURCES

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full text of Grove's Dictionary of Art, which is the largest and most comprehensive encyclopedia on the visual arts that has ever been published. It is an excellent source for finding biographical information on visual and performance artists.
Providing excellent coverage of the visual arts in all parts of the world, this database contains several reference works on art. Most important is Groves Dictionary of Art, the most highly respected encyclopedia of art in the English language.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
This online database contains the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the major English-language encyclopedia of music, as well as other musical reference works from Oxford University Press. It is an excellent source for finding biographical information on musicians and composers worldwide in all types of musical genres.
This online encyclopedia of music contains the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, as well as other music reference works from Oxford University Press.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Containing the full text online of articles from reference books, this database is a good place to find biographical information about authors. You can also find criticism and reviews of their works reprinted here.

Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance
This online reference book contains articles on theatrical styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers.

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database contains full-text articles from a variety of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries on over 500,000 people active in many different professions, both currently and in the past. Links are also provided to additional full-text biographical information in articles from magazines, newspapers, web pages, and multimedia resources.