Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly Articles can generally be found in scholarly journals. Not sure what a 'scholarly journal' is? Watch this video:
Scholarly Sources as Secondary Sources
For your analysis, identify scholarly sources that you might use as secondary sources to help you analyze your primary source. Look articles related to the new media you selected or for trends that might help explain your observations of your primary source.
Academic Search Complete
Indexes articles published in over 20,000 periodicals and provides the full text of many of them
Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from more than 705 international music periodicals on all aspects of classical & popular music. 1970-present. Updated regularly.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Formerly Grove Music Online
An online encyclopedia of music, containing the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.), as well as other Grove Dictionaries of Music and music reference works from Oxford University Press. Updated continuously.
Music Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online resource that cross-searches and gives access to nearly 8 million music tracks in the following streaming music databases: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound. Updated continuously.