Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Find out if the library has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers, either electronically or in print.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
Connect to a reference librarian for help 24/7.
Atlases of the Greco-Roman World
ATLASES AND OTHER GEOGRAPHIC REFERENCE BOOKS
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
One of the most important projects in the field of classical studies in recent years, this atlas contains stunningly beautiful topographic maps of the entire world of the Greeks and Romans, from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and North Africa.
Historical Atlas of the Ancient World (Brill's New Pauly, Supplement 3)
This atlas focuses on the great civilizations of the ancient world, from the third millennium BCE to the 15th century CE. Included are Egypt, Mesopotamia, Asia Minor, the early Aegean, the Greeks, the Romans, the peoples with whom the Roman Empire came into contact, and the Byzantine Empire. The maps are thematic, depicting military and political history, as well as many other aspects of ancient culture. Extensive commentary facing the maps explains the historical background, summarizes the sources of information on which the maps are based, and provides bibliographies of the primary and secondary sources to turn to next for more information.
The following atlases include many intriguing thematic maps that put the geography of the times into context. They are also beautifully illustrated and serve as excellent introductions to the history and culture of their times.
The following atlas is also useful.
The following books are not significant sources of maps. However, their textual articles are extremely helpful for learning more about regions, cities, and archaeological sites of the ancient Greco-Roman world.
Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology
This two-volume encyclopedia provides valuable background on the history of major archaeological sites and works of art from the ancient Greek and Roman worlds, and the explorers and archaeologists who discovered and studied them. Scholars living at the time the encyclopedia was published are not included.
A Guide to the Ancient World: A Dictionary of Classical Place Names [ONLINE RESOURCE]
The articles in this book provide historical, geographical, and archaeological information about the most important geographical locations in the ancient Greek, Etruscan, and Roman world, from the first millennium BCE to the later fifth century CE. .
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites [ONLINE RESOURCE]
This one-volume encyclopedia is an excellent source of information on archaeological sites that show remains today from the Greco-Roman classical period, from the mid-eighth century BCE to the early sixth century CE. The articles provide detailed summaries of the existing remains and what is known about them, and the bibliographies at the end of the articles recommend the archaeological site reports and other publications to turn to next for more information.