Research Guides: ENGL 122AW / WGST 134AW: Film, Gender, and Sexuality (Nanda): MLA Format

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Get Help 24/7

MLA Citation Style

Guides to Citing Sources in MLA Citation Style

The MLA Handbook is the official, authoritative source to use for creating your citations in correct MLA format. It utilizes in-text citations and a works cited page at the end. The following sections of the handbook are the ones you will use most often.

Works-Cited-List Entries by Publication Format
You can find over 500 sample citations here for almost every possible type of resource. They are in the format you use in your Works Cited list at the end of your paper.
In-Text Citations: Overview
This section of the handbook provides guidance on how to create in-text citations for your sources in the body of your paper.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Click this link to connect to the table of contents for the entire handbook. Here you can find all the sections of the handbook, such as Chapter One, which provides guidance on formatting your paper (the margins, title, header, font, etc.).

Another tool that can be helpful when using the MLA citation style is the following:

The OWL at Purdue: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
The OWL guide to citing references in the MLA format is a handy online source that can help with creating correct citations.

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

ENGL 122AW / WGST 134AW: Film, Gender, and Sexuality (Nanda): MLA Format

Quick Links

Get Help 24/7

MLA Citation Style

Guides to Citing Sources in MLA Citation Style