Research Guides: ENGL 122AW / WGST 134AW: Film, Gender, and Sexuality (Nanda): Scholarly Articles

What is a scholarly journal?

Examples of Scholarly Articles

From a Literary Journal:

N aming, Identity, and Intersectionality in Toni Morrison's Sula, Beloved, and A Mercy

From a Women's and Gender Studies Journal:

S ubverting Patriarchy with Vulnerability: Dismantling the Motherhood Mandate in Toni Morrison's Beloved

From a Psychology Journal

Can the Breast Feed the Mother Too? Tracing Maternal Subjectivity in Toni Morrison's Beloved

Get Help 24/7

Scholarly Articles

Where to Find Scholarly Articles

These databases are excellent sources for finding articles from scholarly journals.

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Containing the full text online of criticism, articles from reference books, and reviews of authors and their works, this is a helpful database to get started on your research. If you are looking for critical analysis of a particular literary work, type its title in the "Name of Work" search box, then type the author's name with the surname first (for example -- Morrison, Toni) in the "Person - By or About" search box.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This database lists books and articles written since 1926 on modern languages and their literatures. To find secondary sources about an author, type the author's surname first (for example -- Morrison, Toni) in the first search box, then select "Subject Terms" from the drop-down list in the box to its right. To find discussions of a specific work by this author, add its title in the second search box.
This database includes the full text of more than 1,000 journals in the fields covered. It also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides detailed information about all the periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database indexes articles published in the most important journals on literature, theatre, and other fields in the humanities, from 1984 to the present. This database will be helpful to find analyses of Toni Morrison's work by scholars in other fields in the humanities, as well as by literary scholars.
The full text of many of the articles is available online from 1995, or later, to the present. For indexing of articles in humanities journals prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This is the most important research tool in the field of psychology, indexing articles in professional and scholarly psychology journals, books, and other publications published throughout the world from 1887 to the present. It is a good source for finding discussions of the psychological issues dealt with by Toni Morrison in her works.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
The ultimate women's studies resource, this database includes over 871,000 records for books and articles in scholarly journals and magazines in the field of women's studies. It is a good source for finding discussions of Toni Morrison's work by scholars in the field of women's and gender studies.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides online access to the full text of articles published in back issues of scholarly journals in many fields of study. It is a good source in which to find scholarly articles that provide critical analysis of works of literature.
Consult the online tables of contents for the years available, as coverage varies for each title.

If the full text of an article is not available in any of these databases, click on the Find it @ SCU Libraries link to see if it is available online in another database or in print. If it is not, you can request the article via interlibrary loan.

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

ENGL 122AW / WGST 134AW: Film, Gender, and Sexuality (Nanda): Scholarly Articles

What is a scholarly journal?

Examples of Scholarly Articles

Get Help 24/7

Scholarly Articles