SCU History Digital Collections
Business Classroom in Commercial Building, 1890
- From College to University - SCU's first 150 yearsThis digital collection showcases a number of SCU historic photograph collections housed in Archives & Special Collections. Many of these images were incorporated into a book by George F. Giacomini, Jr. and Gerald McKevitt, S.J., "Serving the Intellect, Touching the Heart," published in 2000 by Santa Clara University.
- Early SCU historiesThis collection, taken from books and pamphlets in the Santa Clara University Archives & Special Collections Department,
features histories of Santa Clara College and University, and the Santa Clara de Asis Mission, from its founding days
until the bicentennial mission celebration of 1977. It also includes tour pamphlets for the Mission.
Manuscript Collections about Santa Clara University
The early history of Santa Clara and its transformation from a Franciscan mission to a modern Jesuit university is documented in manuscripts, publications and digital collections.
- The annals of Santa Clara : college and university, 1851-1951 byCall Number: Ref-LD4881.S27 W277Publication Date: n.d.Annotated typescript now available full text online through the digital collections. Click the title of the work to access it.
- Histories of the University.Written histories of Santa Clara University
Institutional Ephemera
- Guide to the Santa Clara University Scrapbook CollectionThe Santa Clara University Scrapbook Collection, 1890-2014 (bulk 1902-1988), consists of ninety-six scrapbooks documenting more than a century of SCU history.
- Institutional songs, cheers and music byCall Number: 3WSSheet music, stationary, and other ephemera materials about the institution.
Santa Clara University History Publications
The University of Santa Clara by Call Number: LD4881.S32 M33ISBN: 0804710244Publication Date: 1979-01-01- Serving the Intellect by Call Number: Folio LD4881.S32 G53 2000ISBN: 1886571465Publication Date: 2000-10-01
