Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Digital Photograph Collections
Mission With New façade, c.1870.
SCU Historic Buildings
This collection includes black & white and color photographs of Santa Clara University buildings, both past and present. Most buildings have photos of both interiors and exteriors.
Turrill-Miller Photograph Collection
The Turrill-Miller Photograph Collection consists of over 300 photographs documenting the historic buildings and campus life of Santa Clara College (now known as Santa Clara University), from 1905-1920.
1906 Earthquake and Silicon Valley
This is a collection of photographs, College records, newspaper clippings, and personal accounts that tell the story of how the Santa Clara College community fared through, and reacted to, the disastrous event.
In 1851 the original campus of Santa Clara College consisted of what remained of the Mission Santa Clara adobes built by the Franciscans. Newer wooden structures were built around the remaining adobe walls. As the campus was transformed by the Jesuit fathers, the campus buildings resembled less the Alta California Mission period and more the European traditions of the Italian immigrants and the American colleges of the time. In addition, fires, earthquakes and floods continued to transform the campus as they earlier shaped the original mission grounds.
Manuscript and Personal Papers Collections
Santa Clara Map Collection
Guide to the Santa Clara University Map Collection,1854-1982
The Santa Clara University Map Collection consists of 41 maps, drawings, surveys, and site plans of Santa Clara University. The maps in the collection range in date from 1854 to 1982, and include items prepared by public works officials, professional architects and surveyors for University planning purposes, engineering students for class assignments, and local historians for historical research.
SCU Digital Map Collection
Santa Clara University Archives & Special Collections houses a number of maps, plats, and drawings of the local area, some of them dating to pre-US California.
Print Photograph Collections
SCU campus views photograph collection, circa 1860-present
Includes b&w and color photographs of Santa Clara University campus, consisting of aerial images, frontage views, general grounds, and sketches and paintings of the campus.
SCU oversize photograph collection
Includes b&w and color photographs of various subjects relating to Santa Clara University. Subjects represented are aerial images, campus buildings, University events, sports, and other subjects.
Andrew P. Hill photographs of Santa Clara College, 1890-1900
The Andrew P. Hill Photographs of Santa Clara College include photographs of the campus buildings, athletic events, students societies, and portraits of students and faculty from 1890-1900.