Selected Books on Literary Criticism
Quick Links
- Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new windowA team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new windowAccess all of the library's resources from the library home page.
- Interlibrary LoanFind out more about requesting books and articles from other libraries.
- A-Z Database ListBrowse the complete list of databases available through the SCU Library by subject, type, or vendor.
- Find a Journal, Magazine or NewspaperHere is where you can find out if the SCU Library has a specific journal, magazine or newspaper
- Google ScholarLink to article's available through the SCU library and other sources.
Chat with a Librarian
24/7 Research Help is Available
Ice Breaker
Tell us a bit about yourself...
- Name
- What's your favorite book?
- What you like most about studying literature
Activity 1: Exploring Databases Exercise
Instructions:
Try searching in the database assigned to your group. Keep it simple; use recitatif and perhaps morrison as keywords.
With your group, answer the following questions. Pick a spokesperson and be prepared to report your findings to the class.
- How many results?
- Are they relevant?
- Are they scholarly/peer reviewed?
- Are there books/book chapters included in your results, or just articles?
- How do you think your set of results was determined by the focus of the database?
- What would you do to improve your set of results in future searches?
Group 1
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the full text of literary criticism and reviews, biographies, original works of literature, multimedia resources, and links to selected web resources on more than 130,000 authors and their works, from all times and places.
Group 2
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database contains two collections: 1) A current collection (1990-present) of full- text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) A History collection (1959-1989) of full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses.
Group 3
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to images and the full text of articles in back issues of selected scholarly journals related to the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
Group 4
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new windowThis database tells where to find journal articles, scholarly books, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, and dissertations on English-language literature and language studies, published from 1920 to the present.
Activity 2: Articles for Summary of Recitatif Criticism Assignment
Instructions:
Use what you've learned so far to search a different database, the MLA International Bibliography. This is an individual activity that is meant to help you select an article or book chapter for your Summary of Recitatif Criticism assignment.
- Enter MLA International Bibliography
- Perform several searches and evaluate the results
- Pick an article that is very interesting to you
- Complete the worksheet to receive attendance credit for today's class
Link to worksheet for activity #2
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThis database tells where to find journal articles, books, articles in books, and dissertations in the fields of modern languages and their literatures, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, published from 1926 to the present.
Undergraduate Learning Librarian
Undergraduate Learning Librarian