Where to Find Good Sources
Depending on the type and the amount of information you need, you use different tools. The library offers numerous databases to help you find background information, newspaper and magazine articles, scholarly articles from academic journals, videos and documentaries, etc. And of course, you can use Google to find all kind of information (blogs, commentaries, information from organizations, etc), but remember that you need to evaluate the sources to see if they are reliable.
Definitions and Background Information on Your Form
To find a broad overview or a definition of your form, try one of these reference sources collection.
Books
To find books available at SCU, use:
Check the location of the books. They can be located in the main stacks (lower level) or in the Automated Retrieval System. Also, more and more books are now available in electronic format.
Magazine Articles
Many news and magazine articles are available on the web, but often only the most current issue of a magazine is available.
Use the following databases to have access to all the issues of a magazine:
Readers' Guide Full-Text
(Provides acess to 300 magazines from 1983 to the present)
Scholarly Articles
To find scholarly articles published in academic journals, try the following databases:
Omnifile Full-Text (multidisciplinary database)
MLA Bibliography (for literary research)
Just do a keyword search and limit your results to "peer reviewed" articles only.
Example:
Documentaries and Videos
Blogs and Social Media Posts
To keep very current on the topic of interest to you, search Twitter or do a Google search to find blogs on the topic.
Example: Graffiti and blogs
Images
To find images you can use for your papers or presentations, tryh:
ARTstor
Contains more than 1.9 million high-quality digital images for educational and research use. In addition to reproductions of a wide range of works of art and architecture from all times and places throughout the world, the collection also contains photographs and other images useful for study in many disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Updated continually.
Wikimedia Commons lets you find images that are copyright free, meaning that you can use them legally, as long as you provide attribution.