Research Guides: ENGL 1H/2H: Studying College Culture at SCU 2018 (Voss): Background Information

Images

The following resources provide access to images that can be used for your final project:

Advanced Google Image Search
Use the drop-down at the bottom of the page to narrow to images that are "free to use share or modify."
Flickr
Use the creative commons filters to access images you can use.
How To Find And Use Media Assets For Free (Legally)
Guide from UC Berkeley with links to sources for media (audio, images, etc.) you can use legally.

Below are some resources from SCU that are useful for background information:

The Santa Clara- Archive
The Santa Clara student newspaper archive 1922-2013.
The Santa Clara- Online
Online access to current student newspaper, the Santa Clara.
Santa Clara University Website
Official website for the Santa Clara University
SCU Institutional Research
Makes available data related to SCU, including admissions, academics, financial, etc.

The are sources of information about SCU from external sources:

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles for 522 U.S. regional, national and international newspapers like USA Today, Indian Country Today and The Times (London). Also offered are transcripts from major network television and radio news, such as Face the Nation, CBS Evening News, CNN Reliable Sources, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, etc. Dates of coverage vary.

Encyclopedias and other reference sources can provide basic information to help you understand your topic better:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles from over 600 reference sources, as well as access to a wide range of information sources that include images, audio, and video. Topic Pages are informative overviews, and Mind Map assists narrowing and focusing research topics to improve database searching.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This database provies full text access to over 200 subject encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is a collection of Oxford University Press's dictionaries, companions and encyclopedias, spanning 25 different subject areas. Articles vary from general reference to in-depth discussion of specific topics. Subject areas include the sciences, classical literature, music, quotations, religion, social sciences, as well as law. Updated throughout the year.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia is an online encyclopedia and can be a useful source for background information. Because it is open to any author(s), quality can vary depending on the topic.

More detailed background on your topic can be found in white papers/reports and from data sources:

Google Advanced Search
Google advanced search can help with finding reports and white papers. Try searching for your topic using .org or .gov limiters.
National Center for Education Statistics
NCES can be used to find comparative information from other schools. They also produce reports on various education-related topics.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, reports and insight on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 countries, with content that ranges from forecasts, surveys, white paper reports, and daily data. Insight reports cover the market, consumers, companies, as well as e-commerce.