Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background sources will help you:
- Understand the context of your topic
- Explore the problem your solution will address
- Help you prepare your introduction
Look for background information in:
- Encyclopedia entries
- Historical bacground/facts
- News anecdotes
Sources for General Background Information
Try the following sources to find background information.
Explore Census Data
Explore Census Data provides access to data from the US Census. Search by state, county, city, town, or zip code for community facts. Comprehensive coverage of community demographics, housing, occupation, households, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Allows you to search for articles from over 600 different electronic reference books and also works as a gateway to a very wide array of other information sources, including images, audio and video. It is a really excellent place to begin research with 'Topic Pages' offering authoritative overviews and a Mind Map feature to assist in narrowing and focusing research and identifying keywords for database searching.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of over 200 subject encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text coverage for more than 240 newspapers and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor and The Times (London) and full text transcripts from Face the Nation, CBS Evening News with Dan Rather, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, National Public Radio, etc. Dates of coverage vary.
New York Times (1851-2017) This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable digitized issues of The New York Times. Indexing coverage is from 1851 to 2017. Full text is available online from 1851 to 4 years ago.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Wikipedia is an online encyclopedia and can be a useful source for background information. Because it is open to any author(s), quality can vary depending on the topic.