Civil, Environmental and Sustainable Engineering

Welcome to the Civil, Environmental and Sustainable Engineering Library Guide!

This guide provides research resources for general civil engineering. If you have more in-depth questions or are having problems finding materials, feel free to use the Chat with a Librarian box to the left to receive help from a real librarian. You can also request a consultation appointment with your Applied Sciences Librarian.

Civil Engineering Specializations at SCU

There are eight civil engineering specializations you can pursue at Santa Clara University and each topic has a library guide that provides subject specific resources (coming soon!). Follow the links below to see the amazing materials available to your specialization!

Structural: Design, construct, and maintain the structural components of buildings, bridges, and other infrastructure.

Water Resources: Specialize in designing, managing, and maintaining water-related infrastructure and systems.

Geotechnical: Focuses on the properties and behavior of soil, rock, and other earth materials. This specialization applies scientific and engineering principles to ensure the stability and safety of infrastructure projects, particularly in relation to the ground

Materials: Studies the substances used in constructing and maintaining infrastructure like buildings, bridges, roads and dams. 

Infrastructure Development: Design, analyze, and manage systems that support essential human activities. This includes networks and facilities for electric power, oil and gas, water and wastewater, communications, transportation, and the structures that form both urban and rural communities.

Transportation: Encompasses a wide range of projects, from futuristic concepts like smart roads and hyper-loop systems to low-tech solutions that prioritize pedestrian and cyclist safety. 

Construction: Coordinate, organize and manage the day-to-day construction process, ensuring compliance with designs and plans.

Environmental: Combines the principles of both civil engineering and environmental science to address challenges related to the environment and public health. 

This is a free browser extension that facilitates access to the SCU library's full text resources as you find research on the web. LibKey Nomad provides one-click access to full text from websites, databases, publisher pages, and even Wikipedia.

Open Researcher and Contributor ID, is a free, unique, persistent identifier (PID) for individuals to use as they engage in research, scholarship, and innovation activities.

Use the above link to access the SCU instance of Google Scholar which will allow you to escape paywalls and find scholarly literature and other materials to support your research.

Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.