Your Librarian
Library Chat
Welcome to the Library!
On this guide, you'll find links to helpful resources for your assignments in CTW 1 and CTW 2. From library tutorials, to resources for music research topics, there's something here for you.
Have questions or need help? Reach out to your librarian!
-
CTW 1 Library Tutorial (2025-2026)This short, interactive tutorial introduces you to what you need to know about the library as a CTW 1 student.
-
Quick Tips for CTW 1 StudentsOne-page handout with quick takeaways.
-
How-To VideosYouTube playlist of short videos, covering the library website, searching with keywords, finding books and articles, and more.
Academic Articles
You can find articles on your research topic by searching the Articles tab on the library homepage:
You can also search one of the following databases to find more sources about music research topics:
-
Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowArticles, book chapters, and other academic sources covering all aspects of classical and popular music worldwide.
-
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new windowThis database provides scholarly journals and magazines that analyze and contribute to popular culture.
-
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia articles on classical, popular, and folk musics from many eras and areas of the world. Helpful background information on genres, styles, time periods, artists, instruments, technology, and more.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to psychology journals, books, and dissertations. It is THE source for starting any psychology research project. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
-
Diversity Collection This link opens in a new windowAcademic, magazine, and independent press articles from publications in the databases GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to over 5,600 active full-text journals and over 6,500 open access journals. Covers topics that range from business, education, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and science. Coverage varies, updates also vary.
Books & Ebooks
You can find books and ebooks on your research topic by searching the Books tab on the library homepage. Here are a few examples of books and ebooks in our library:
Statistics
You can find facts, data, and statistics about music-related topics using the database, Statista.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowEasy to search platform for finding statistics, reports, and insights on a range of topics and industries from around the world.
-
Statista Collection: U.S. Music Industry - Statistics & FactsCollection of data useful for projects about the U.S. music industry.
Music Magazines
Want to read some music magazines? Here are links to a few.
-
Rolling Stone (current)2014 to the present via the Flipster platform, which allows you to read the magazine as a full issue with images.
-
Rolling Stone (archive)1985 to the present. Browse by issue or click "Search within this publication" to enter your keywords.
-
Billboard (current)Current Billboard website.
-
Billboard (archive)1894-2021. Archived PDFs of Billboard magazine issues via the World Radio History project.
-
Pitchfork (current)Major popular music publication.
-
The Source (current)The magazine of hip hop music, politics, and culture.
-
Spin (current)Current Spin website.
-
Spin (archive)1987-2012. Browse by issue or click "Search within this publication" to enter your keywords.
-
Paste (current)Current Paste website.
-
Paste (archive)2004-2010. Browse by issue or click "Search within this publication" to enter your keywords.
-
The Beat (archive)1982-2009. Also published under the title "Reggae Beat & African Beat." Browse by issue or click "Search within this publication" to enter your keywords.
-
ROCKRGRL (archive)1995-2005. Browse by issue or click "Search within this publication" to enter your keywords.
Streaming Audio
You can listen to music via the library's streaming music collections.
-
Music Online: American Music This link opens in a new windowOver 1 million tracks reflecting the music of all American ethnic groups and regions, from the Revolutionary War to the present.
-
Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new windowOver 3 million tracks containing contemporary music from every continent, including such genres as reggae, calypso, neo-traditional, world fusion, and Bollywood, as well as traditional music such as Indian classical, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, and more.
-
Music Online: Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new windowOver 950,000 tracks representing thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres from around the world.
-
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new windowOver 56,000 tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, including the complete recordings released by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other ethnomusicological collections.
Other Resources
Other helpful websites for your assignments are listed here.
-
AllMusic.comAllMusic describes itself as "a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about the albums, bands, musicians and songs you love."
-
A History of Rock and Dance MusicWebsite companion to a book by Piero Scaruffi. Contains excerpts from the book.
-
"TechnoPop: The Secret History of Technology and Pop Music" (NPR)Archived link of a 2003 project from NPR.