Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Help 24/7
Our chat service is offline.
Encyclopedias and General Reference Sources
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND GENERAL REFERENCE SOURCES
International Encyclopedia of Dance [ONLINE RESOURCE]
This multivolume encyclopedia is the major reference work in the English language providing coverage of all aspects of world dance. It contains articles on cultural and technical dance topics, as well as articles about individual dance companies, types of dances, well-known ballets, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Encyclopedia of World Ballet
This encyclopedia contains in-depth articles on all aspects of ballet throughout its history and around the world. Included are articles on choreographers, composers, costumers, dancers, dance companies, set designers, techniques and terminology, and individual ballets.
Encyclopedia of World Folk Dance
This encyclopedia contains lengthy articles on folk dances from around the world, from antiquity to the present. The articles summarize the historical and ethnic milieu of each dance, including its origins, purpose, and traditions.
International Dictionary of Ballet
This two-volume encyclopedia provides lengthy, well-illustrated articles on individual artists, individual ballets, and specific ballet companies. Though international in scope, its emphasis is on Russia, Europe, and North America, where much of the development of classical ballet has taken place.
International Dictionary of Modern Dance
This encyclopedia contains lengthy, well-illustrated articles on all aspects of modern dance, including biographical entries on dancers and choreographers, and essays on dance companies, major movements and styles, and individual dances.
Oxford Dictionary of Dance [ONLINE RESOURCE]
This reference book contains short articles on all aspects of dance performance from classical ballet to modern dance, and from many popular and folk dance traditions around the world. It includes entries on technical terms, steps, styles, individual works, and dance companies, as well as biographical articles on dancers and choreographers.
Oxford African American Studies Center
This online database is an outstanding source for information on African American history and culture. Excellent articles on many aspects of African American dance, and about individual dancers, are included, along with primary source documents, visual images, video clips, and more.