Get Help 24/7
SCU Writing Center - The HUB
Need writing assistance? See the SCU Writing Center - known as The HUB.
Getting Started
At the beginning of the research process, it's very useful to get an overview of your topic. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources are a great way to get started and to find background information on your topic from various perspectives.
- Gale eBooksProvides the full text of over 200 subject encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.
- Credo ReferenceAllows you to search for articles from over 600 different electronic reference books and also works as a gateway to a very wide array of other information sources, including images, audio and video. It is a really excellent place to begin research with 'Topic Pages' offering authoritative overviews and a Mind Map feature to assist in narrowing and focusing research and identifying keywords for database searching.
- Slavery in the Modern World: a History of Political, Social, and Economic Opression [Ebook]This is an ebook that bring to light an often-ignored tragedy, opening readers' eyes to the devastated lives of those coerced into unpaid labor. It is the first and only comprehensive encyclopedia on practices that persist despite the efforts of antislavery advocates, nongovernmental organizations, and national legislation aimed at ending them.
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery [Reference Book]This 2 volume encyclopedia can be found in the lower level of the library in the reference section. This encyclopedia provides an historical and cultural overview of slavery around the world. This work includes the stories and cultures of the individuals involved, its complex history and its colossal impact. It covers history and legislation to art, music and literature, and religious perspectives.
- The Historical Encyclopedia of World SlaveryThis 2 volume encyclopedia can be found in the lower level of the library in the reference section. This encyclopedia presents 700 topics of world slavery.
Overview of Contemporary Unfreedom Issues
If you are researching a contemporary topic related to modern slavery and unfreedom (such as human trafficking, LGBT or Transgender rights, mass incarceration, etc.), try the CQ RESEARCHER database. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day complete with summarieis, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies, and more.
Exploring SlaveVoyages
The SlaveVoyages websites is a collaborative digital initiative that compiles and makes publicly accessible records of the the largest slave trades in history. Search these records to learn about the broad origins and forced relocations of more than 12 million African people who were sent across the Atlantic in slave ships, and hundreds of thousands more who were trafficked within the Americas. Explore where they were taken, the numerous rebellions that occurred, the horrific loss of life during the voyages, the identities and nationalities of the perpetrators, and much more.