Find Articles for Your Topic
Systems (Grounds, Facilities, Administration, Energy...)
1. Find an Article (Magazine, Scholarly)
HOW?
Choose a Database (ie. a scholarly search engine) under the "Suggested Article Databases" tab. Then enter your keywords and synonyms, modeling it like the search above.
2. Find a Book (Print or Ebook)
HOW?
1. Enter keywords describing your topic in OSCAR. For example:
- (Facilities OR buildings OR campus*) AND (college* OR universit*)
- Education AND curriculum AND sustain* AND (college* OR universit*)
2. Be sure to note the locations of the book:
- ARS: The book is in our Automated Retrieval System and you'll need to request it.
- Main Stacks: The books is on the lower level of the library. Note its call number (address) to locate it.
- Electronic Resource: It's an ebook that you can access directly online through our book catalog.
Consumption (Food, Water, Energy...)
1. Find an Article (Magazine, Scholarly)
2. Find a Book (Print or Ebook)
Education (Classes, Curriculum, Messages, Values...)
1. Find an Article (Magazine, Scholarly)
2. Find a Book (Print or Ebook)
Environmental Databases
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowEnvironmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics. Abstracts and full-text. Sources include newspapers, magazines, refereed journals, videos, podcasts, images, case studies, and portals for 160+ nations with an interactive map.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides abstracts and references to the literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution, as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. 1981-present. Updated monthly.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary environmental database that includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles on global warming, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, green building, and more. Mostly abstracts with some full text.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Updated daily.
Browse Databases By Subject
To browse all SCU databases by subject, visit the Databases By Subject page.
