MKTG 3000 - 10/7/2025 - Sharma
Your Librarian
Paul de Barros
he/him/his
Contact:
On campus: Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday.
Virtual: Monday and Thursday.
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
Zoom room:
https://scu.zoom.us/my/pdebarros
Website
Virtual: Monday and Thursday.
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
Zoom room:
https://scu.zoom.us/my/pdebarros
All Business Resources
Free Subscriptions
Calm - send an email to Campus Ministry campusministry@scu.edu
Article searches
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to more than 3,500 journals, trade publications, magazines, and company profiles. Additional full-text non-journal content includes case studies, market research reports, SWOT analyses, country reports, and more.
- Using Advanced Search, try some keyword searches or combinations
- Example: Coffee shops / Marketing
- Publication date: decide how recent the articles need to be.
- Find an article of interest and download it.
US Industry research
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowProvides insight and analysis on more than 700 industries in the United States. Each report covers Porter's Five Forces, including competitive landscape, major companies, industry performance, barriers to entry, etc. "Additional Resources" listed are also helpful.
- In IBISWorld, type in an industry of interest (e.g., coffee & snack shops in the US)
- Scan the report
- What are some key factors for success in this industry? Key challenges?
- Download the report to your computer
International Industry Research
-
Passport This link opens in a new windowThis database provides economic, geographic, and individual market data for countries and regions worldwide. Main sectors include Industries, Channels, Products, Consumers and Economies. From each area, it is possible to narrow search parameters to find what you need. There is an Update Schedule that details information projections well into 2040.
Researching small and mid-sized companies
-
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowThis database provides information on American public and private businesses. Data provided ranges from addresses, number of employees, sales figures, credit score, type of location (branch, subsidiary, headquarters), SIC code, to line of business (e.g. computer software). Updated monthly.
- Advanced Search
- Type of business (keyword search) -> Select category(ise)
- Location of business: Geography search -> Choose area
- Size of business - Select the category
- View Results
- Download as an excel summary table
- Look at one business. What information do you find that might be useful?
More resources
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides statistics, reports and insight on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 countries, with content that ranges from forecasts, surveys, white paper reports, and daily data. Insight reports cover the market, consumers, companies, as well as e-commerce.
Don't forget about... Google, Yelp, Social Media, LinkedIn, Gemini AI (while logged in to your scu.edu gmail account.)