Find Articles for Your Topic
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to over 5,600 active full-text journals and over 6,500 open access journals. Covers topics that range from business, education, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and science. Coverage varies, updates also vary.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from six of H.W. Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Texts, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Also available are full-text articles from five periodical databases: Applied Science & Technology, Art, BIological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science. Indexing begins 1982, Abstracts 1984, and Full-text coverage 1994. Updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles and indexing to over 1,000 active open access journals, as well as conference papers, and videos covering all aspects of education. Dates of coverage and Updates vary.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis database provides abstracts and journals related to general health, nutrition and professional health care for academia from 1975 to present.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles at least one column in length from over 544 different English language periodicals in the social sciences, which includes anthropology, psychology, sociology, ethnic studies, political science, economics, geography, urban studies, and more. Fulltext of articles are available from about 175 of these periodicals. Indexing goes back to 1983. Abstracts began with January 1994. Fulltext availability varies title to title, but may go back to 1995. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1983, use Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to journals, books, conference papers, and dissertations on the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1963 to present.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database covers political science topics in depth and has a worldwide focus. It includes scholarly journal articles, books, and conference papers.
Ethnic Studies & Women's Studies
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database contains two collections: 1) A current collection (1990-present) of full- text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) A History collection (1959-1989) of full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThis database provides scholarly essays, journal articles, historic newspapers, fiction, poetry, archival records, and literary reviews in Black Studies. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals), the Black Literature Index, and historical black newspapers such as the Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975) and and the Daily Defender (1956-1975).
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a historical archive of the oldest and largest Black-owned newspaper in the western United States on the grass-roots struggle against the racially restrictive housing covenants of the 1940s, including first-hand accounts of politics, society, and events.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowThis database tells where to find journal articles on Latin American topics in the social sciences and humanities from 1967 to the present.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the full text of hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers (many of them bilingual) published between 1808 - 1980. Included are newspapers from California, Texas, New Mexico, New York, and many other states.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles on gender and women's studies, LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender) by authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database providing indexing and abstracts for disciplines including sociology, history, international relations and humanities. All sources relevant to Women's studies on a global scale. 1972 - present.
Communications & Criminal Justice Databases
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowThis database provides comprehansive access to communication topics such as mass media, communication theory, linguistics, organizational communication, etc. Coverage goes back to 1915.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to articles and other materials related to film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowThe database covers criminology, corrections & law enforcement, criminal law, criminal justice, criminal rehabilitation, industrial crime, addictions (e.g., gambling), and child abuse. Coverage is from 1981 to the present.
Browse Databases By Subject
To browse all SCU databases by subject, visit the Databases By Subject page.
To find an article (Magazine, Scholarly), enter each different concept in its own search box.
Search terms with synonyms might be:
- racis* OR bias* OR discrimination* OR prejudice*
- practice* OR intervention* OR therap*
(the * asterisk looks for all words that share that root, like racist, racism)
Database: Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition)
Example:
Database: Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition)
To find an article (Magazine, Scholarly), enter each different concept in its own search box.
Search terms with synonyms might be:
true crime stories / crime drama / true crime entertainment
Example 2:
