Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 2A: Diversifying Your Sources

Activity: Diversifying Sources

Now that you've learned more about library databases, this activity will give you the opportunity to consider your topic from multiple disciplinary perspectives. You will learn how to use library disciplinary databases to find those perspectives. There are two ways to do so: you can either browse by database off the library homepage and/or you can use a research guide like this one where a librarian suggests some databases.

Step One: Read the Google and the Library introduction.

Activity: Practice using disciplinary databases to search for diverse perspectives. Access the activity worksheet here and make a copy.

Sample Topic and Search

Browse Library Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases
Social Sciences, Business, and Psychology Databases
Ethnic Studies & Women's Studies
Communications, Language & Film Studies 

Health and Sciences

Humanities, Religious Studies and the Arts
Browse Databases By Subject

To browse all SCU databases by subject, visit the Databases By Subject page.  

To find an article (Magazine, Scholarly), enter each different concept in its own search box. 

Search terms with synonyms might be:

  • racis* OR bias* OR discrimination* OR prejudice*
  • practice* OR intervention* OR therap*

(the * asterisk looks for all words that share that root, like racist, racism)

Database: Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition)

Example:

Health Source examples search 1

Database: Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition)

To find an article (Magazine, Scholarly), enter each different concept in its own search box. 

Search terms with synonyms might be:

true crime stories / crime drama / true crime entertainment

 

Example 2: