ETHN 187: YOUTH ACTIVISM & CONTEMPORARY SOCIAL MOVEMENTS (Fernandez)

Use OneSearch for Broad Searching

OneSearch is a simple search engine that allows you to search simultaneously for books, articles, and more available at SCU Library. OneSearch brings together content of a large selection of our subscribed e-journals and databases, our library catalog, and our digital library collections in a single search interface. It can be a good starting point for interdisciplinary research, which you then might augment with some discipline-specific databases. Access OneSearch directly on the Library homepage. Learn more about OneSearch here. 

• America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window

  This database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present, this database also provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals and more than 92 books.

• Diversity at Santa Clara University This link opens in a new window

  Information on diversity at SCU and in Santa Clara Valley. Links to electronic resources in diversity.

• Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window

  A collection of three full-text databases, namely GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. GenderWatch provides access to over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Ethnic NewsWatch is a comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters of the ethnic, minority and native presses as well as many journals concerned with issues of race and ethnicity, with archival material back to 1985. Alt-PressWatch includes over 1.5M articles from more than 300 small sources including unique, independent voices from respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals covering the arts and all viewpoints across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.

• Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window

  Ethnic NewsWatch™ is really two databases, a current one, beginning in 1990 and including newspapers, magazines, and journals of the American ethnic and minority press, including scholarly ethnic studies journals.This is updated daily with new content. The other database is a historical file covering the years 1959-1989, incuding a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.

• ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window

  Contains more than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences such as criminal justice, education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, sociology, etc.

• Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window

  Index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully covers over 1,400 journals spanning 50 disciplines. Coverage also includes items relevant to the social sciences selected from 7,000 other journals. 1994-present. Updated weekly.

• Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window

  Includes full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.

• Education Week This link opens in a new window

  This database includes the newspaper Education Week, a core source of information on state and national education news. In addition, there are a wide variety of reports on recent developments in education, profiles and interviews, and weekly commentaries. It is also a great place to find information about events, new books and curriculum products, job postings, quality blogs, webinars, and videos.

• Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window

  Provides full-text access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Time coverage varies by title, with some going back to the early 80s. It includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present.

• Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window

  A database of hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers published between 1808-1980 from 22 states, many of which are from California, Texas, New Mexico, and New York. Many newspapers are bilingual.

• Independent Voices This link opens in a new window

  A four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

• Los Angeles Times (1881-Present) This link opens in a new window

  Full text of the Los Angeles Times newspaper from 1881 to present.

• New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window

  Includes access to content at NYTimes.com and through the New York Times app. New York Times content includes breaking news, multimedia, opinion, blogs, videos, and more. Registration required.

• San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window

  Provides the full text of the electronic edition of record of the newspaper from 1985 to the present.

• San Jose Mercury News This link opens in a new window

  Provides the full text of the electronic edition of record of the newspaper from 1985 to the present and full-color newspaper pages from 2020 to present. Current content also available through Mercury News (MercuryNews.com).