How to Learn with the Library
Assistant Dean for Learning & Engagement
Films Around the Globe
How to Use this Guide
Welcome! Use this LibGuide in your Films Around the Globe C&I course to help you:
- Find detailed biographical information about film directors
- Locate articles and materials discussing the film's reception
- Establish films in their historical, cultural, and social contexts
I also recommend exploring "How to Learn with the Library" (to the left) to get familiar with all of our services and resources available free to you as a student.
Top Sources
These three databases are frequently recurring suggestions throughout this guide (in addition to others -- but think of these as the top hits). Quickly get started with these and/or use the pages to the left to go more in-depth.
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new windowThis database contains articles from a variety of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries on over 500,000 people from all times and places. Links are also provided to additional full-text biographical information in articles from magazines, newspapers, web pages, and multimedia resources. Updated daily.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch this database for literary and film criticism and reviews. You'll also find biographical content for directors. Updated continually.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch this specialized film and television database for your film title or director. It includes articles related to writing, production, cinematography and reviews.