Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 181: Engineering Communications

What every engineering student needs to know to do research and writing for ENGL 181--whether it is for a class project or for your senior design theses. Learn to do research by applying the engineering design process.

Too Much Info

1. Look at an irrelevant record from your research results. Can you figure out why the database retrieved it?  Could the program have misinterpreted the meaning of your search term(s)?  Try to use a more specific term or a short phase that excludes the meaning you don't want. Or add in a new term to make the meaning of the old one more specific.

2. Check where in the record your search terms are.  The best matches for topics are in fields such as Subject or Title.  Try using the Advanced or Expert Search option in the database to search in specific fields only.

3. Use limiters when available. Databases provide a range of limiters such as limiting by language, journal articles only, peer reviewed journal articles only, date of publication, by subject heading, etc.  These are usually selected by a check box or pull-down menu.

Too Little Info

1.  Are your search terms spelled correctly? Databases don't come with spell checkers.  One misspelling can invalidate your whole search.

2.  Be careful when using long phrases.  When you use a phrase, all the words must be in the exact order as you've typed them in.  Some databases default to putting the operator AND between the words as you type.  Each AND operator added keeps narrowing down your search results.

3.  Think of broader terms for the concept you need.  Sometimes there is little written on a specific topic, but more in a general area.

4.  Try using alternate terms or synonyms instead. 

5.  Don't forget to use truncation - usually the asterisk * symbol to indicate both singular and plural word forms.  Other word forms such as variations of spelling within words are indicated by other symbols--check under "help" for the database to see which are used.

Wrong Info

1.  Wrong database?  Check the coverage of the database you are using - read "about this database." Does it cover the kinds of materials you need?  The right subjects?  The right types of documents?  The correct dates?

2.  In the database search box use the pull-down menu "browse by subject" which lists the databases according to subject category.  

3.  BEST recommendation -  Ask a LibrarianYou can ask a question by e-mail, phone, or chat.  There is also a 24/7 web chat service staffed by SCU, AJCU (Jesuit-founded universities) librarians, and librarians hired by the system vendor.  Since questions about search strategy are more complex, and normally require more time--these are best answered in person.

Finding Full Text Journal Articles

While you are searching a database, you can mark the pertinent items and email the citations/abstracts to yourself. If the database you are using provides the full text of the article, it will be in PDF and/or HTML format--just click on PDF or HTML to open it.

If the full text is not provided in your search results, click the “Find It @ SCU” button.  A new window will open to provide available choices in this order:

1. Links to full-text if we have the journal online.

2. Links to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have the journal only in print.  Bound issues of journals can be retrieved from the automated retrieval system (ARS) by clicking on "Request from ARS" in the full catalog record. 

3. Link to Interlibrary Loan if we do not have the journal. Register for your account, fill out the citation information, and you will be notified by your SCU email when the article is available in your Interlibrary Loan account. Be sure to download your article within 30 days, or it will be deleted from storage. There is no charge for this service to the SCU community.

Save Your References Using RefWorks

Annotated Bibliography vs. Literature Review