OneSearch
OneSearch is the main search box on the Library's website. You can also access it directly:
OneSearch contains the content from over 300 databases, the library catalog, and more.
You can use it to find news, but you relinquish control over your search when you use a database with such a large set of information.
News-specific databases give you more control and provide advanced functionality. Those options are listed below, with useful tips and tricks.
Get helpful tricks for leveraging OneSearch to your maximum advantage in this video:
Access World News
Access World News is an expansive database with many options for increased control over your search. The advanced search interface provides news-specific tools.
The database includes full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers.
- Access World News Advanced SearchConstruct sophisticated searches with multiple keywords, field searching, and other strategies; limit and browse by global location.
Create an Alert in Access World News
Follow a country or topic on a regular basis by setting up email alerts in Access World News.
- Enter a search that interests you, or use the map to browse to a continent and country.
- On the results page or the landing page for a country, click Create Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering. You'll have more control to edit the alert if you register.
- Specify the frequency you would like to receive your alerts. If there are new relevant results, Access World News will send them to you in an email.
Above: Landing page for Argentina in the news. Click Create Alert to get email updates.
Above: When you receive a list of search results, there is an option to Create Alert at the top. Use the refiner to sort by Newest if you want the most recent articles.
Result interface checklist:
- Create an Alert for that search to get an email delivered on a regular basis with results.
- Register for an account to Save Search or for increased control over your alert.
- Use the Sort by refiner to make sure you're looking at the most recent news articles.
Gale OneFile: News
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Time coverage varies by title, with some going back to the early 80s. It includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
Example advanced search strategy:
Create an alert:
Newspaper Source
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text coverage for more than 240 newspapers and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor and The Times (London) and full text transcripts from Face the Nation, CBS Evening News with Dan Rather, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, National Public Radio, etc. Dates of coverage vary.
By now you are familiar with how to use an advanced search box.
In Newspaper Source, you will have to create an EBSCO account to set up an email alert.
CountryWatch
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new windowDetailed economic, political information and news for 191 countries. Country reviews include historical and political information, five years of hard data for key economic sectors, economic overviews, detailed maps, environmental situations, stock markets, investment climates, and taxation information. Continuously updated.
CountryWatch is your number one source for newswires. They call that portion of the database Country Wire.