Anthropology Databases
Picking a Set of Information—or Database—to Search
Each individual database listed below holds a specific set of information relevant to anthropological studies.
These databases are paid for by SCU Library.
Using one of these databases to search for articles saves you time and energy because you won't have to wade through as many irrelevant results as if you used Google Scholar or another tool open on the web.
- Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, and other materials related to anthropology and its subfields of cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics from 1970 to present.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowContains records of journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, commentaries, and obituaries related to anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research from the 18th century to today.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowContains records of journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, commentaries, and obituaries related to anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research from the 18th century to present.
- All Databases Tagged for Anthropology ResearchDepending on your topic, you may need to try searching in a different set of information rather than one of the anthropology-specific sets. At this link you can find the multi-disciplinary databases that may be relevant for your research.
Instructions for Searching
Construct your search using a combination of words that represent similar concepts and words that represent an intersecting concept.
In the example below, femicide is a synonym for the concept of violence against women, and that is combined with a geographic indicator, mexico or "latin america."
Put quotes around phrases so the search engine looks just that specific order of the words.
How to Get Articles
How to Get Articles
Once you find articles that interest you, you can mark them and email the citations/abstracts to yourself.
To obtain the full article, click the “Find It @ SCU” or “Link” button. A new window opens to provide available choices in this order:
1. Links to full-text if we have journal online
2. Link to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have journal only in print (this is extremely rare in the sciences--most journals are electronic!)
3. Link to Interlibrary Loan if we do not have journal. Log into your account, the form will auto-fill, submit, and the article pdf will be emailed to you in a few days. (If you don't have an Interlibrary Loan account, there are options to create your account.)
You can also search for article titles in Google Scholar (Google > "More" tab, upper left > Google Scholar). If you are on-campus, look for the “Find It @ SCU”link.