Resources
1. Go to OSCAR, the library catalog:
-
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
2. Enter keywords describing your topic. For example
- African Americans and voting rights
- elections and representation
- social movements and minorities
3. Be sure to check book locations in OSCAR. Some books are located in the ARS (Automated Retrieval System) and you need to request them, while some are in the stacks on the lower level of the library by call number.
Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower by ISBN: 9781250112880Publication Date: 2019-03-05Far too often, Black women's anger has been caricatured into an ugly and destructive force that threatens the civility and social fabric of American democracy. But Cooper shows us that there is more to the story than that. Black women's eloquent rage is what makes Serena Williams such a powerful tennis player. It's what makes Beyoncé's girl power anthems resonate so hard. It's what makes Michelle Obama an icon. Eloquent rage keeps us all honest and accountable. It reminds women that they don't have to settle for less. In the Black feminist tradition of Audre Lorde, Brittney Cooper reminds us that anger is a powerful source of energy that can give us the strength to keep on fighting. -- Back cover.
Habits of the Creative Mind by ISBN: 9781457681813Publication Date: 2015-10-01Improve your writing by adjusting the way you think and approach assignments in the instantly accessible and flexible Habits of the Creative Mind.
Know My Name by Call Number: POP HV6561 .M54 2019ISBN: 9780735223707Publication Date: 2019-09-24The library has 1 physical copy in the library.
Dear America by Call Number: PN4874.V37 V37 2018ISBN: 9780062851352Publication Date: 2018Born in the Philippines and brought to the U.S. illegally as a 12-year-old, Vargas hid in plain-sight for years, writing for some of the most prestigious news organizations in the country (The Washington Post, The New Yorker) while lying about where he came from and how he got here. After publicly admitting his undocumented status--risking his career and personal safety--Vargas has challenged the definition of what it means to be an American, and has advocated for the human rights of immigrants and migrants during the largest global movement of people in modern history.
Use OneSearch for Broad Searching
OneSearch is a simple search engine that allows you to search simultaneously for books, articles, and more available at SCU Library. OneSearch brings together content of a large selection of our subscribed e-journals and databases, our library catalog, and our digital library collections in a single search interface. It can be a good starting point for interdisciplinary research, which you then might augment with some discipline-specific databases. Access OneSearch directly on the Library homepage. Learn more about OneSearch here.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present, this database also provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals and more than 92 books.
- Diversity at Santa Clara University This link opens in a new windowInformation on diversity at SCU and in Santa Clara Valley. Links to electronic resources in diversity.
- Diversity Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of three full-text databases, namely GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. GenderWatch provides access to over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Ethnic NewsWatch is a comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters of the ethnic, minority and native presses as well as many journals concerned with issues of race and ethnicity, with archival material back to 1985. Alt-PressWatch includes over 1.5M articles from more than 300 small sources including unique, independent voices from respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals covering the arts and all viewpoints across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch™ is really two databases, a current one, beginning in 1990 and including newspapers, magazines, and journals of the American ethnic and minority press, including scholarly ethnic studies journals.This is updated daily with new content. The other database is a historical file covering the years 1959-1989, incuding a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowContains more than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences such as criminal justice, education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, sociology, etc.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1994-present This link opens in a new windowIndex to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully covers over 1,400 journals spanning 50 disciplines. Coverage also includes items relevant to the social sciences selected from 7,000 other journals. 1994-present. Updated weekly.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.
- Education Week This link opens in a new windowThis database includes the newspaper Education Week, a core source of information on state and national education news. In addition, there are a wide variety of reports on recent developments in education, profiles and interviews, and weekly commentaries. It is also a great place to find information about events, new books and curriculum products, job postings, quality blogs, webinars, and videos.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Time coverage varies by title, with some going back to the early 80s. It includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowA database of hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers published between 1808-1980 from 22 states, many of which are from California, Texas, New Mexico, and New York. Many newspapers are bilingual.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowA four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Los Angeles Times newspaper from 1881 to present.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to content at NYTimes.com and through the New York Times app. New York Times content includes breaking news, multimedia, opinion, blogs, videos, and more. Registration required.
- San Francisco Chronicle (CA) This link opens in a new windowProvides the full text of the electronic edition of record of the newspaper from 1985 to the present.
- Mercury News Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full-image newspaper pages from 1900 to present, the full text of the electronic edition of record of the newspaper from 1985 to the present, and web edition articles from 2007 to present. Full-image newspaper pages of the Evening News from 1884 to 1983 are also included. Current content also available through Mercury News (MercuryNews.com).
- Data-Planet This link opens in a new windowNote: This database has changed names. It is now called Sage Data.
Data-Planet provides access to a repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Through a single platform, users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 70 authoritative government and private sources. - Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowThe standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. It covers dozens of topics (slavery, American Indians, poverty, etc.) and includes 37,000 data series from over 1,000 sources. It allows users to create and download custom tables.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowOnline tools and data that allow users to visually explore data indicators across demography, economy, health, religion, crime and more. Users can visualize and interact with data, create reports and downloads for offline processing.
Consider what information might already exist on your research topic. For example, if you wanted to learn more about a politician, you might want to consider campaign literature (e.g., pins, brochures, posters, etc.); political documents; and perhaps other biographies or interviews that already exist. In the same way, you will want to consult newspapers and any other records pertaining to a particular historical event if that is your focus. So, if you wish to collect and preserve your family history through oral history, you might want to consult family diaries, scrapbooks, photographs, heirlooms, etc.
Adapted from Oral History Toolkit, Claremont Colleges Library
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by Richard T. Schaefer (Editor)
ISBN: 1412926947
Publication Date: 2008-03-20
"This ambitious undertaking touches all bases, is highly accessible, and provides a solid starting point for further exploration." -School Library Journal
Ethnic American Literature by Emmanuel S. Nelson (Editor)
ISBN: 1610698800
Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Unlike any other book of its kind, this volume celebrates published works from a broad range of American ethnic groups not often featured in the typical canon of literature.
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups by Stephan Thernstrom (Editor); Ann Orlov (Editor); Oscar Handlin (Editor)
ISBN: 0674375122
Publication Date: 1980-10-10
From Acadians to Zoroastrians-Asians, American Indians, East Indians, West Indians, Europeans, Latin Americans, Afro-Americans, and Mexican Americans--the Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups provides the first comprehensive and systematic review of the many peoples of this country.