Environmental Sciences Research Resources

The American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists® is a not-for-profit 501(c)(6) organization serving the Environmental Engineering and Environmental Science professions by providing Board Certification to those who qualify through experience and testing. The Academy also provides training through workshops and seminars, participates in accrediting universities, publishes a periodical and other reference material, interacts with students and young professionals, sponsors a university lecture series, and rewards outstanding achievements through its international awards program.

Tthe American Solar Energy Society (ASES) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that advocates for sustainable living and 100% renewable energy. We share information, events and resources to cultivate community and power progress in the U.S. and beyond. As the U.S. section of the International Solar Energy Society (ISES), we work with individuals and groups around the world to accelerate the transition to a renewable energy and sustainable living society.

CCO is the premier professional development organization and cross-sector community of practice for individuals addressing climate change in their organizations’ operations and mission. ACCO membership fosters collaboration with leading edge practitioners, policy makers, climate scientists and researchers to advance solutions and build capacity in addressing climate change.

Engineers for a Sustainable World (ESW) is an international nonprofit network of students & professionals united by their shared passion for technical sustainability. We believe that young engineers & scientists are critical to solving the biggest sustainability challenges of today and tomorrow.

The International Hydropower Association (IHA) is a non-profit membership organisation and the global voice for sustainable hydropower.
As an association, we believe that all new hydropower projects should be developed and operated responsibly and sustainably.

The International Society for Industrial Ecology (ISIE) promotes industrial ecology as a way to address sustainability challenges and achieve a circular economy. The science of industrial ecology applies a systems perspective to explore how material and energy are used by society to find solutions to complex environmental problems. The ISIE facilitates communication among scientists, engineers, policymakers, managers, and advocates who are interested in better integrating environmental concerns with economic activities. The mission of the ISIE is to promote the use of industrial ecology in research, education, policy, community development, and industrial practices.

Mission: To advance the science and practice of conserving Earth’s biological diversity.

Promoting best practices in wetland research, education, conservation, preservation, restoration, and management.

ESDIS oversees the life cycle of NASA’s Earth science data—from acquisition through processing and distribution. The primary goal of ESDS is to maximize the scientific return from NASA's missions and experiments for research and applied scientists, decision makers, and society at large.

World Data System aims to promote universal and equitable access to quality-assured scientific data, data services, products and information, with a view towards long-term data stewardship. These data sharing principles advance those goals.

WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway - accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching to national and international scientific databases and portals.

The Environmental System Science (ESS) program advances an integrated, robust, and scale-aware predictive understanding of terrestrial systems and their interdependent biological, chemical, ecological, hydrological, and physical processes. ESS is part of the Earth and Environmental Systems Sciences Division (EESSD) within the U.S. Department of Energy’s Biological and Environmental Research (BER) Program. The ESS program seeks to develop an integrated framework using a systems approach to elucidate the complex processes and controls on the structure, function, feedbacks, and dynamics of terrestrial ecosystems that span from the bedrock through the rhizosphere and vegetation to the atmospheric interface.

CDDIS was initially developed to provide a central data bank for NASA's Crustal Dynamics Project (CDP). The system continues to support the space geodesy and geodynamics community through NASA's Space Geodesy Project as well as NASA's Earth Science Division.

EOSDIS is a key core capability in the Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program. It provides end-to-end capabilities for managing NASA Earth science data from various sources—satellites, aircraft, field measurements, and various other programs.

IGS is a voluntary federation of many worldwide agencies that pool resources and permanent GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite Systems) station data to generate precise GNSS products.

GHRC provides a comprehensive active archive of both data and knowledge augmentation services with a focus on hazardous weather, its governing dynamical and physical processes, and associated applications. GHRC focuses on lightning, tropical cyclones and storm-induced hazards through integrated collections of satellite, airborne, and in-situ data sets.

LAADS Distributed Active Archive Center (DAAC) primarily archives and distributes data on clouds, water vapor, and aerosols in Earth’s atmosphere as well as key instrument data for NASA, NOAA and European Space Agency missions. LAADS DAAC also serves as a backup source for MODIS and VIIRS land products.

GES DISC is one of 12 NASA Science Mission Directorate Data Centers that provide Earth science data, information, and services to research scientists, applications scientists, applications users, and students. We archive and support data sets applicable to several NASA Earth Science Focus Areas including: Atmospheric Composition, Water & Energy Cycles, and Climate Variability. Note that we also archive data sets applicable to Carbon Cycle & Ecosystem, but we describe this science focus area in the context of the three previously mentioned.

CDO provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals. Customers can also order most of these data as certified hard copies for legal use.

NCEI environmental data spans a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines, archive methods, naming conventions, file formats, and governance strategies. NCEI develops software, APIs, visualization methods, and other services to enhance data access, discovery, and interoperability.

PO.DAAC is a NASA Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) data center managed by the Earth Science Data and Information System (ESDIS) Project. The PO.DAAC is operated by Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, California.

NOAA’s PMEL is a federal laboratory that makes critical observations and conducts groundbreaking research to advance our knowledge of the global ocean and its interactions with the earth, atmosphere, ecosystems, and climate. These observations are used to improve weather and climate predictions, fisheries management and coastal resilience.

The International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO was established in 1961. Its purpose is to enhance marine research, exploitation and development, by facilitating the exchange of oceanographic data and information between participating Member States, and by meeting the needs of users for data and information products.