SCU Writing Center - The HUB
Need writing assistance? See the SCU Writing Center - known as The HUB.
Contact Us
Book an Appointment - Need help finding sources for your paper?
Email Your Question - Answered by a librarian within 48 hours.
By Telephone - 408-554-5020 during regular hours
Contact Your Subject Librarian
Step 1: Choose a Topic
Choosing a Topic You are Curious About
The first step in the search process is to choose a topic. Choosing a topic you are curious about and interested in will make the research process easier and more enjoyable.
Step 2: Develop a Strategy
Searching is Strategic
Searching can be difficult, but beginning with a search strategy can make your database searches more successful. Start with brainstorming keywords.
Step 3: Select a Database
Choosing the Right Database
Once you have a topic and keywords, select a database to find books and articles. For books, use the OSCAR library catalog. For articles, select a library database, starting with some of the recommended databases on this guide. You can also browse the Database by subject list on the library web page.
Step 4: Find Articles
Finding Scholarly Articles
Once you have selected a database, use your keywords to search and find full text scholarly articles.
Step 5: Repeat
Searching is a Cycle
Searching is sometimes referred to as a "cycle". In other words, you often will need to search multiple times and in many different places. You might modify or adjust your topic, brainstorm new keywords, and try searching in additional databases. Repeating your search strategy can help you find additional and more refined sources.
Step 6: Organize Sources
Organizing Sources for the Writing Process
The final step in the search process is to organize your sources for the writing process. By organizing and annotating the sources you have find, you will save time and improve the quality of your research paper.