How to Search on an EBSCO Platform
When searching the library databases, you might encounter different interfaces. For example, the one pictured here is from EBSCO. Others you might see are ProQuest or Elsevier. These are the names of the platforms, not the actual database or collection. Find out more information about the image above:
- "Anthropology Plus" is the name of the database
- Keyword searching - "hominid"
- Boolean Operator - AND means you want to connect keywords
- Keyword and Boolean Operator - Notice that I am using OR as a way to say consider "diet" OR "nutrition" OR "food". The OR means you want the database to look for any of these keywords. You'll also notice that I kept the same concept in one box. This is a strategy you can use to keep track of each of the concepts.
Selected Databases
Anthropology Databases
- Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, and other materials related to anthropology and its subfields of cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics from 1970 to present.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowContains records of journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, commentaries, and obituaries related to anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research from the 18th century to today.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowContains records of journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, commentaries, and obituaries related to anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research from the 18th century to present.
Sociology Databases
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals from 1871 to present on anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles at least one column in length from over 544 different English language periodicals in the social sciences, which includes anthropology, psychology, sociology, ethnic studies, political science, economics, geography, urban studies, and more. Fulltext of articles are available from about 175 of these periodicals. Indexing goes back to 1983. Abstracts began with January 1994. Fulltext availability varies title to title, but may go back to 1995. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1983, use Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to over 5,600 active full-text journals and over 6,500 open access journals. Covers topics that range from business, education, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and science. Coverage varies, updates also vary.
- Diversity Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to three full-text databases, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch covers gender and women studies and LGBTQ+ research from authoritative perspectives in academic, radical and community presses from 1970 to present. Ethnic NewsWatch contains newspapers, magazines, journals of the ethnic, minority, and native presses from 1985 to present. Alt-PressWatch includes independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to images and the full text of articles in back issues of selected scholarly journals related to the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
How to Get Articles
How to Get Articles
Once you find articles that interest you, you can mark them and email the citations/abstracts to yourself.
To obtain the full article, click the “Find It @ SCU” or “Link” button. A new window opens to provide available choices in this order:
1. Links to full-text if we have journal online
2. Link to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have journal only in print
3. Link to Interlibrary Loan if we do not have journal. Fill out all citation information and article pdf will be emailed to you in a few days.