Research Guides: SOCI 122: Applied Sociology Capstone (Nichols): Find Background & Data

Sources for Background Information

Credo Reference
This database provides full-text articles from over 600 reference sources, as well as access to a wide range of information sources that include images, audio, and video. Topic Pages are informative overviews, and Mind Map assists narrowing and focusing research topics to improve database searching.

Oxford Handbook of the Social Science of Poverty
A thorough examination of contemporary poverty, this Handbook is a valuable tool for non-profit practitioners, policy makers, social workers, and students and scholars in the fields of public policy, sociology, political science, international development, anthropology, and economics.

Gale eBooks
This database provies full text access to over 200 subject encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.

US Census Data
Access a wealth of data from the U.S. Census. Covers income, households, commute times, race/ethnicity, and much more.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
The BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)- Data & Statistics
Data and statistics related to various health issues from the Center for Disease Control & Prevention.
kidsdata.org
Find data about the health and well being of children in communities across California.

Statista
Provides statistics, reports and insight on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 countries, with content that ranges from forecasts, surveys, white paper reports, and daily data. Insight reports cover the market, consumers, companies, as well as e-commerce.

USDA Food & Nutrition Services
This is the official government website for the food services programs. It has all kinds of statistics on it. Main navigation is the tabs at the top (notice DATA for statistics).
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistical Sites lists of links to internet sites with statistics from countries around the world. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics maintains this site. It includes links to official government sources for each country as well as the U.S.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
National Endowment for the Arts- Arts Data Profile

Compiled data about artists in the United States.
State of California Department of Justice Crime Data

Crime data for the state of California. This site contains crime data submitted by county and local law enforcement agencies, as well as current and historical publications on crime, juvenile justice, homicide, and hate crimes in California

U.S. Department of Education- Data & Statistics

Links to data related to different aspects of education in the U.S. (college attendance, bullying, special education etc.)

ICPSR
ICPSR provides access to datasets in disciplines such as criminal justice, education, political science, public health, sociology, and substance abuse. Researchers can analyze the data using statistical software such as R, SPSS, or Stata. SCU is a member institution.