SCTR 15: Texting God (Lehmann): Citation Help

Chicago-style source citation comes in two varieties:

1. notes and bibliography - preferred by many working in the humanities, including literature, history, and the arts. In this system, sources are cited in numbered footnotes or endnotes. Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text. Sources are usually listed in a separate bibliography. The notes and the bibliography system can accommodate a wide variety of sources, including unusual ones that don't fit neatly into the author-date system.
2. author-date - common in the sciences and social sciences. . In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author's last name and y ear of publication. Each in-text citation mates up with an entry in a reference list, where full bibliographic information is provided.

Learn more about Chicago Manual of Style online through the SCU Library or Chicago Style from Purdue OWL.

CHICAGO MANUAL OF STYLE

• Chicago Manual of Style Online

  The complete, fully-searchable text of the 16th (2010) edition of the Chicago Manual of Style. In addition to showing the correct formats for citing bibliographic references, it also provides guidance on grammar, usage, punctuation, spelling, and other aspects of good writing.

• Chicago Manual of Style

  This is a printed copy of the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.

• Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

  This is the Chicago Manual of Style's quick online guide to its citation formats.

• The OWL at Purdue: Chicago Manual of Style

  This online guide, produced by the OWL at Purdue Online Writing Lab, provides basic information on the formatting of entries used in the bibliography of a research paper, following the Chicago Manual of Style format.