Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Reference Books on Artists

REFERENCE BOOKS ON ARTISTS

The first three titles below are large multivolume sets; they are the most comprehensive and scholarly dictionaries of artists. Many obscure artists who are not included in other encyclopedias can be found in them.

Dictionary of Artists / Benezit
Saur Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon
Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Künstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart
International Dictionary of Art and Artists
This reference book covers far fewer artists than the three listed above; however, its second volume, which contains one-page articles on individual works of art, can help you get a good start researching specific art works.
Dictionary of Women Artists
This encyclopedia offers substantial articles on women artists from the Middle Ages to the present day.