Skip to Main Content
Santa Clara UniversityUniversity Library

ANTH 02-Intro to Archaeology-Panich: Searching Tips

Research Guide for the students in Anth2

Searching Tips

Search strategy:

Before you start your research, decide which keywords you will be using.

For example, if you are interested in the looting of archeological sites in United States, you might choose the follwoing keywords:       

                 archeological site* and looting and United States

                                       

  • Use an asterisk to find variations of a word, for example archaeolog* will search for archaeology, archaeological.
  • Then, enter your keywords in the database search boxes. You can enter  synonymns or related terms  with "or" connectors (without the quotes). For example:

          o first line: archaeolog*
          o second line:  looting or pillage

          o third line:  United States

 

  • If you are only interested in research articles, check the screen to see if there is a way to limit your search to "peer reviewed" only.

 

Choosing the right database:

The library subscribes to so many databases that it is sometimes difficult to choose the right one.  If you are not sure which one to choose, use the Database by subject list on the library web page.  For example if you are writing a paper on "food and culture" you can choose an anthropology databaase, but you can also select one for sociology research or even an environmental studies one. 

 

Locating  the full-text of an article:


You have 4 options for getting the full-text of an article:

  • The database you are using has the full-text article. Just click on the link (pdf version is better)
  • If the full-text is not available in the database you are using, click on Find It@SCU Libraries:

        * Is the article available in another database (e.g., Wilson OmniFile, JSTOR)? If so, click on the link and follow the citation information (e.g., volume, issue, date of publication, etc.)
        * Does the library have this journal in print? It is possible the library has the journal but not the year you need.

  • If none of the above work, you can request the article from another library via Interlibrary Loan & LINK+.