Research Guides: THTR 151: Fashion and Identity (Dowse): Dictionaries

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Dictionaries of Fashion Terms

DICTIONARIES OF FASHION TERMS

The following dictionaries are very useful in understanding the specialized terms that are used in discussing fashion and costume. Many of them are illustrated with photographs or drawings that show what particular items of clothing look like.

Berg Fashion Library
Providing a wide range of information on dress and body adornment worldwide throughout history, this database includes the Berg Dictionary of Fashion History and other reference works whose articles define fashion terms and provide illustrations of items of clothing from both the past and present.
This database includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and other reference works, the full text of over 200 other books on fashion, and an extensive collection of color photographs of clothing and body adornment.