Research Guides: Resources on Fashion, Politics, and Issues of Gender: General Research Sources

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

General Research Sources

FASHION, POLITICS, AND ISSUES OF GENDER

GENERAL RESEARCH SOURCES ON FASHION AND CLOTHING

The following databases and encyclopedias are excellent sources for beginning your research on topics dealing with fashion, clothing, and body adornment. The first seven are broad in scope and deal with all aspects of these subjects, while the others are narrower in focus and go into more detail on their particular topics.

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
This database provides a wide range of information on dress and body adornment worldwide throughout history. It includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and other reference works, the full text of nearly 60 other books on fashion, and an extensive collection of photos of human attire from the past and present.
This database includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and other reference works, the full text of over 200 other books on fashion, and an extensive collection of color photographs of clothing and body adornment.