Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 2A: Science, Ethics, and Society (Nanda): Finding Scholarly Articles

Best Databases for Your Project

Get Help 24/7

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Find Articles

Search Strategy:  

  • Click on one of the databases listed on the left
  • If you are off campus, you will need to enter your SCU Username and password
  • ​Enter keywords describing your topic in the search boxes (one keyword or phrase per box)
  • Use an asterisk (*) to find variations of a word.  For example, ethic*  will retrieve ethics and ethical
  • Use synonyms or related terms to increase your results.  For example: ethical or moral
  • If you only want scholarly articles, you can limit your search to "peer reviewed" only.

Getting the full text of the articles you want:

1. If the database you are using has the full text of the article, just click on the link (pdf or html).

2. If the full text is not available within the database, click on Find It@SCU Libraries:

  • Is the article available in another database?  If so, click on the link and use the citation information (e.g., volume, issue, date of publication, etc.) to find your article
  • Does the library have this journal in print? Go to the OSCAR record and request the issue you need
  • If the library doesn't have access to the full text of the article, you will be offered the option of ordering a scanned copy of it through the interlibrary loan service (which is free).

Exercise 2 - Finding and Evaluating Scholarly Sources

Search for your topic in at least two databases from the list on the left.  Then complete "Exercise 2: Finding and Evaluating Scholarly Articles," which you will find in Module 5 in the Camino site for this course.  This exercise will help you find and evaluate a good scholarly article.