Part A: Journals, Databases, Platforms
Now it is time to move from information on the open web to information you get from library databases. Think back to the two videos you watched, From Idea to Library and Library Databases. We are going to focus on the information you get from various periodicals because they will most likely prove to be what you will use for your college research. However, the basic principles apply to a wide variety of information sources.
This is not going to be easy or really quick. It is, however, extremely important. What I am trying to teach you here is something you will need to apply over and over again in this class and in other classes. In other words, time spent here will save you time and grief later on. Guaranteed!
We are going to begin by expanding on what the video From Idea to Library had to say about how journal articles get published. You will then get to see how some of these articles LOOK on different database platforms.
Remember the video you saw about library databases? The important detail here is the plural: databaseS. Sadly, you will have to learn about more than one. And, the articles are delivered through many different database platforms (think delivery truck, UPS or Amazon? or the Post Office!), meaning they will look different depending on which platform you are experiencing (and it is an EXPERIENCE!).
Once you've learned more about scholarly journal articles, you will get to compare those to articles in 2 very different types of periodicals. Scholarly journals are just one type of periodical. As a student researcher, you will be using a couple of these other types quite extensively as well. Articles of interest to child studies appear in those other 2 types as well.
Is this beginning to sound a bit complicated?
I hope so! Because it is. But, it is important and will help you do research in all your classes and even when you are out in the "real world".
So, time to turn off your smartphone and focus!
The adventure begins with the video tutorial Journals, Databases, Platforms.
Part B: You Say Scholarly Journal; I Say Something Else Entirely!
Continue the adventure you began with the video Journals, Databases, Platforms by completing this Google form: You Say Scholarly Journal; I say Something Else Entirely!