Part A: What exactly IS a database? How about some examples?
You've been introduced to the PERIODICAL LITERATURE that you will be using in your research, and you've seen what these periodical articles look like in a few different databases, on different platforms.
It's now time to learn even more about these DATABASES, especially what are often referred to as "library databases" or "research databases."
Lucky you, we have a lovely tutorial to help you do this. Click the link below when you are ready to embark on this great adventure!
Part B: Getting Started with PsycINFO
Time to take the plunge!
You are going to meet a massive, sophisticated, complex, amazing database: PsycInfo. It is sometimes referred to as APA PsycInfo.. You've already met the APA, the American Psychological Association. You visited one of their journals on the web earlier. The APA created this incredibly powerful research tool, this database.
PsycInfo describes scholarly and professional articles in psychology journals published all over the world and reaching back into the 19th century. It also includes information about psychology books, chapters in books and dissertations.
Keep in mind that the RECORDS in this database include descriptive information, NOT the fulltext of the material. Many library databases are like this. Others include fulltext. Most are a mixture. In fact, just to make your head spin, when you search PsycInfo through SCU, you will get some fulltext because we subscribe to all the APA journals. (Do you remember that database? PsycArticles?) So, when your search retrieves an article from an APA journal, it will include the entire article as a PDF.
So, complete the tutorial, Getting Started with PsycINFO, carefully and thoughtfully! It is complex. It should take you some time to do. You might even want to do it over a few times!
Image by Jan Haerer from Pixabay